LibGuides: Electronic Resources Directory: e-Books & Institutional Repositories

Database Icon Key

Icon	Meaning
	You need a University of Baltimore netID to access this resource via the proxy server.
	You need a University of Baltimore School of Law netID to access this resource via the proxy server.
	Official federal database containing government information. UBalt Law Library is a member of the Federal Depository Library Program, providing public access to U.S. Government documents.
	A specific HeinOnline Database, contained within our greater HeinOnline Subscription.
	This resource is available to researchers using UBalt Law computer terminals.
	Some or all features of this resource require you to first create a user account with your UBalt Law netID; you may need to be on-campus to do so.
	This resource has e-book options available.
	This resource has audio options available.
	This resource has video options available.

Don't want to be guided to a database by subject? Would you rather go directly to the A-Z Databases List?

Page Index

University of Georgia School of Law's LibGuide on Open Educational Resources

The University of Georgia's School of Law's Alexander Campbell King Law Library has put together an incredibly comprehensive set of OER, low-cost, or institutionally accessible resources specifically related to law. Those interested in such materials are highly encouraged to visit the guide.

Open Educational Resources by the Alexander Campbell King Law Library
Select the appropriate topic under the Resources by Subject link in order to find a legal textbook or supplement related to your topic of law.

e-Book Collections

Any e-books (excluding study aids) that are available to University of Baltimore users can be accessed through one of the following databases.

eBook Central, USMAI (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
eBooks covering a range of subjects. Quickly and easily find titles and chapters that you can read online, or—title-depending—download as full or partial eBooks. Creating a user account allows you to highlight, take notes, and bookmark pages in your online copies, as well as share your research with others.

If prompted, select the University of Baltimore Law Library and log in using your netID information.
View ProQuest Ebook Central Help FAQ.
View ProQuest Ebook Central how-to videos.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Large, librarian-curated collection of eBooks with more than ten-thousand titles related specifically to the subject of Law. Content includes non-English language books. Many can be downloaded DRM-free, in full, as PDF or EPUB formatted files. Additional options include reading within your internet browser or through the EBSCO Mobile App.
Users wanting detailed guidance on using this database can utilize EBSCOhost Help, or by clicking Help at the top, right-hand side of the page. Specific help for eBooks and Audiobooks can be found also.
For technical issues, consult EBSCO Connect Help.
ProView (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
Platform providing access to the Law Library's collection of Thomson Reuters/West-published eBooks. A title list can be generated by clicking the User icon at the top-right and selecting Export List of Titles. Clicking the Question Mark icon will provide a platform overview.
Note: Users must accept Thomson Reuters' Sponsor Agreement before being allowed to access materials.
Does contain some textbooks, but it may not contain your textbook.

Open Educational Resource (OER) Books

What are Open Educational Resources (OER)?
Creative Commons defines Open Educational Resources (OER) as: teaching, learning, and research materials that are either (a) in the public domain or (b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone with free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activities. More information, including definitions, can be found in the Creative Commons Wiki. Below you will find a growing list of resources to help you locate OER materials.

Pressbooks Directory This link opens in a new window
Designed to help people quickly find desired Open Education Resources (OER) published using the Pressbooks platform. Over three-thousand materials and growing; some books are also interactive. Has faceted search/filtering, full-text search, and various sorting and display options to help users find what they're looking for. Books can be read online, in-browser, or downloaded in EPUB/EPUB3, Digital or Print PDF, MOBI, Pressbooks XML, or OpenDocument formats. Look for the "Download this book" link on the book's main landing page, directly under the book cover.
Note: Not all Pressbooks are indexed in the directory. Authors can choose to opt-out of including their public books from being listed.
How to Find Books on the Pressbooks Directory.
University of Baltimore OER Press Catalog This link opens in a new window
A small but growing collection of Open Education Resources (OER) created by University of Baltimore faculty for their courses. Materials were created through the work of a Community of Practice.
Open Education, Open Pedagogy, and Open Education Resources address needs of teachers and students alike. By removing barriers to access, and embracing the “5R’s” of Retain, Reuse, Revise, Remix, and Redistribute it also leverages the network of knowledge developed and shared by creators.

Academic Repositories

What is a repository? Great question! The most basic definition of a repository is: a place where things are stored. Here, specifically, it means an online database (the place), often hosted by an academic institution, educational resource, or government entity, that contains electronic files of academic scholarship (the things). It's not very different from your average database, except the materials are often closely related to whomever is hosting the repository (such as a University or College), and the contents are freely available. It's often a great place to find journal articles that are otherwise embargoed or no longer available online.

This section is under construction! More databases coming soon.

Bepress Legal Repository This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of law-related research materials, across individual institutional repositories, such as law schools, research units, institutes, centers, think tanks, conferences, and other subject-appropriate groups, which post materials to specific publications (e.g., the USC Working Paper Series). Works are often either recently published or forthcoming/pre-prints.
bepress FAQ for Readers.
Maryland Shared Open Access Repository (MD-SOAR) This link opens in a new window
A shared digital repository platform for eleven colleges and universities in Maryland. It is currently funded by the University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions (USMAI) Library Consortium (usmai.org) and other participating partner institutions.

Directory of Institutional Repositories by University of Missouri
A Directory of Institutional Repositories that will allow individuals to locate digital, academic materials stored in online repositories. This reference guide is hosted by the University of Missouri; if you run into issues with this resource, please let us know!