LibGuides: Electronic Resources Directory: FRD

Database Icon Key

Icon	Meaning
	You need a University of Baltimore netID to access this resource via the proxy server.
	You need a University of Baltimore School of Law netID to access this resource via the proxy server.
	Official federal database containing government information. UBalt Law Library is a member of the Federal Depository Library Program, providing public access to U.S. Government documents.
	A specific HeinOnline Database, contained within our greater HeinOnline Subscription.
	This resource is available to researchers using UBalt Law computer terminals.
	Some or all features of this resource require you to first create a user account with your UBalt Law netID; you may need to be on-campus to do so.
	This resource has e-book options available.
	This resource has audio options available.
	This resource has video options available.

Looking for the A-Z List?

Don't want to be guided to a database by subject? Would you rather go directly to the A-Z Databases List?

Page Index

Open Educational Resource (OER) Books

What are Open Educational Resources (OER)?
Creative Commons defines Open Educational Resources (OER) as: teaching, learning, and research materials that are either (a) in the public domain or (b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone with free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activities. More information, including definitions, can be found in the Creative Commons Wiki. Below you will find a growing list of resources to help you locate OER materials.

Pressbooks Directory This link opens in a new window
Designed to help people quickly find desired Open Education Resources (OER) published using the Pressbooks platform. Over three-thousand materials and growing; some books are also interactive. Has faceted search/filtering, full-text search, and various sorting and display options to help users find what they're looking for. Books can be read online, in-browser, or downloaded in EPUB/EPUB3, Digital or Print PDF, MOBI, Pressbooks XML, or OpenDocument formats. Look for the "Download this book" link on the book's main landing page, directly under the book cover.
Note: Not all Pressbooks are indexed in the directory. Authors can choose to opt-out of including their public books from being listed.
How to Find Books on the Pressbooks Directory.
University of Baltimore OER Press Catalog This link opens in a new window
A small but growing collection of Open Education Resources (OER) created by University of Baltimore faculty for their courses. Materials were created through the work of a Community of Practice.
Open Education, Open Pedagogy, and Open Education Resources address needs of teachers and students alike. By removing barriers to access, and embracing the “5R’s” of Retain, Reuse, Revise, Remix, and Redistribute it also leverages the network of knowledge developed and shared by creators.

Uploading Scholarship

For faculty assistance with ORCID, ScholarWorks, or SSRN, please contact Savannah Long, Faculty Services & Reference Librarian.

ORCID
ORCID, which stands for Open Researcher and Contributor ID, provides a persistent digital identifier (an ORCID iD) that you own and control, and that distinguishes you from every other researcher. You can connect your iD with your professional information — affiliations, grants, publications, peer review, and more. You can use your iD to share your information with other systems, ensuring you get recognition for all your contributions, saving you time and hassle, and reducing the risk of errors.
ScholarWorks
ScholarWorks @ UB School of Law showcases the vibrant scholarly contributions of the University of Baltimore School of Law community. Our faculty and students aim to foster an environment of free and open discourse, with a commitment to serve the State of Maryland, its citizens, and the broader legal community. This repository is a service of the UB Law Library.

SSRN: Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Otherwise known as SSRN. Open access research platform designed for scholars to share their publications on a wide variety of subjects; also contains working papers and forthcoming articles from many law school faculty members. Except for materials with third-party copyrights, most materials are freely downloadable in PDF format.
SSRN Support Center and FAQ.

Professional Development Tools

Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians, and education researchers. Contents include American Library Association periodicals.
Researchers can access a Title List in Excel or HTML format, organized by Journals or Subject.
Users wanting detailed guidance on using this database can utilize EBSCOhost Help, or by clicking Help at the top, right-hand side of the page.
For technical issues, consult EBSCO Connect Help.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Publishes academic-related news and information, and job listings for college and university faculty, staff and administrators.
Washington, D.C. based. Digital published weekdays; print editions published weekly, with the exception of May, June, July, August, and the last three weeks in December, when it is published every other week.
About The Chronicle of Higher Education.
Sitemap.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents, covering a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers. Researchers can also limit search results by targeted education level or by intended article audience.
Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
A Title List is provided by the Department of Education.
Researchers who are unable to access the database via this method can access it via the Institute of Education Sciences.
Users wanting detailed guidance on using this database can utilize EBSCOhost Help, or by clicking Help at the top, right-hand side of the page.
For technical issues, consult EBSCO Connect Help.
ERIC FAQ.