Electronic Resources Directory

Black-led, Black-controlled nonprofit newspaper and media outlet.
Originally founded in November 2017 after the closure of Baltimore City Paper (May 1977-Nov. 1, 2017) as a for-profit paper (print and online) that closed after four months (16 issues) due to lack of advertising. As of August 2022, was revived as an online alt-weekly newspaper with a bi-weekly print version was available across Baltimore for free. Relies on fiscal support from readers and donors.

Independent daily news website. A fixture in Baltimore since 2010, The Brew specializes in aggressive accountability reporting, looking at campaign cash, development deals, government spending, city services and more. Also covers justice, jobs, housing, economic development, the environment, education, youth, transportation, architecture, preservation, urban design, neighborhood conflicts over development and liquor issues, and commentary from people with special expertise and perspectives that deserve to be part of the civic conversation. Financial support comes from reader-members, foundations and advertiser-sponsors; all donors who donate more than $1,000 are disclosed.

Reports the "fun, factual and sometimes controversial scoop on local schools, real estate, money and power, culture, lifestyle, and community. Find daily posts Monday through Friday, longer original weekly stories, assorted columns and curated news from around the region, all accompanied by photos and video."

Largest daily newspaper in Maryland, founded in 1837; headquartered in Baltimore, Maryland, currently published by Tribune Publishing Company, LLC. Full text of articles are hosted on the ProQuest platform.
Coverage: Sep 16, 1990 - present, some exceptions. For material dating May 17, 1837 - Dec 31, 1996, see Baltimore Sun (Historical) (on Proquest).

A digital-first, daily newsroom with frequent updates on business and law; part of BridgeTower Media.
Digital Editions of both the Daily Record and the Maryland Family Law Update can be accessed by scrolling through the left-hand column on the website. Older editions of Daily Record can be accessed by selecting More on their navigation bar and then selecting Digital Edition; older editions of the Maryland Family Law Update, are also archived, available from February 2012.
A print edition is published weekdays in addition to more than 25 special products a year including Power Lists ranking the key people in Maryland in a variety of industries, Doing Business in Maryland, Way to Be and Expanding Opportunities. It also focuses on women business leaders with Women’s Perspectives, including a monthly podcast, webinar series, every-other-week email newsletter and a special quarterly print content package along with Maryland’s Top 100 Women, Leading Women and Women’s Leadership Summit events.

Nonprofit, nonpartisan newsroom with no paywall. Covers: education and transportation, poverty and health care, energy and the environment, the business community and organized labor, and politics. Part of the States Newsroom network.

Multi-platform public service with offerings on television, online, radio and social media. A private, nonprofit organization created in 1979 by the cable television industry to provide long-form, unfiltered and balanced public affairs programming. C-SPAN receives no government funding, funding comes through license fees paid by television providers — the cable and satellite companies that offer C-SPAN to their customers as a public service — and through advertisements on their digital platforms. C-SPAN's mission is to provide their audience with access to the live, gavel-to-gavel proceedings of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, and to the other forums where public policy is discussed, debated and decided — all without editing, commentary or analysis, and with a balanced presentation of points of view.
C-SPAN covers the House of Representatives, C-SPAN2 covers the Senate and on Saturdays becomes American History TV and on Sundays becomes Book TV, and C-SPAN3 provides additional public affairs programming, including press briefings, congressional hearings and speeches. Platforms also include C-SPAN.org, C‑SPAN Now, C-SPAN Radio, podcasts, email newsletters and a robust presence on social media.

An international news organization, published by The First Church of Christ, Scientist since 1908. Access provided through ProQuest. Article text is provided in ASCII format.
Coverage: Jan 2, 1980 - present, full-text with some exceptions.

Publishes academic-related news and information, and job listings for college and university faculty, staff and administrators.
Washington, D.C. based. Digital published weekdays; print editions published weekly, with the exception of May, June, July, August, and the last three weeks in December, when it is published every other week.

Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government through a collection of periodicals, academic journals and related content. Audience is primarily military members, analysts, policy makers, students, and researchers. Many full-text titles are available in searchable PDF or scanned-in-color. Materials hosted by EBSCO.

Access through ProQuest to New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Baltimore Afro-American, and Baltimore Sun.
Coverage: See individual titles for coverage dates.

Archive of national and regional U.S. newspapers.
Available to UBalt Law students, faculty and staff only. See a Reference Librarian for access.

Considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
Access provided through ProQuest: Complete text of recent articles is provided in ASCII format; The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
Coverage: Jan 1, 1996 - present.
While in database, users can also click Publications to access The Daily (podcast), New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast), New York Times Book Review, New York Times Español, New York Times Magazine, and New York Times (video).

Daily reporting and analysis on trends in state policy. Founded in 1998 by Pew Trusts (a non-profit organization) and committed to the highest standards of nonpartisanship, objectivity, and integrity. Team of veteran journalists combines original reporting with a roundup of the latest news from sources around the country. Researchers can also sign up for e-newsletters.

Founded in 1889, published by Dow Jones & Company, Inc., major source of news and information about world-shaping global forces: business, finance, economics and money. From WSJ News Mission: "We provide facts, data and information, not assertions or opinions. We believe in full separation between News and Opinion. We pursue exclusive stories, with the goal of breaking all important scoops in our core areas; deep insight and analysis; and actionable intelligence—being the first read and the last word. We have a unique, trusted responsibility as a watchdog and custodian. Across coverage, we seek a genuinely diverse set of voices and experiences with every story striving to speak to as wide an audience as possible."
Full-text PDF articles. Access provided through ProQuest.
Coverage: Jan 8, 2010 - current; WSJ: The Magazine from the Wall Street Journal, Jun 2011-Apr 2013; Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition, Jan 2, 1984 - current.

Well known for in-depth news and analysis of American politics, along with insightful coverage of national and international trends and events. Read by more than a million people worldwide. Access provided through ProQuest. Complete text of recent articles is provided in ASCII format.
Coverage: Full text Dec 4, 1996 - present; Citation/Abstract Feb 01, 1988 (Vol. 111, no. 58) - present. See Washington Post (Historical) for full text material spanning Jan 1, 1987 - Dec 3, 1996.
While in database, users can also click Publications to access Washington Post Blogs, The Washington Post (Online), and Washington Post Video.

Published by the Afro-American Company of Baltimore City, primarily as a weekly paper. Was one of the largest African American newspapers in circulation throughout the United States. Maryland State Archives' brief history and synopsis of the publication.
Access provided through ProQuest: Complete text provided in PDF format via full text or page view.
Coverage: 1893 through 1988-02-06; coverage gaps of 1894, 1900, and 1990-91.

Largest daily newspaper in Maryland, founded in 1837; headquartered in Baltimore, Maryland, currently published by Tribune Publishing Company, LLC. Full text of articles are hosted on the ProQuest platform.
Coverage: May 17, 1837 - Dec 31, 1996. See Baltimore Sun for material from 1990-current.

Archive of national and regional U.S. newspapers.
Available to UBalt Law students, faculty and staff only. See a Reference Librarian for access.

Considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
Access provided through ProQuest: Complete text of recent articles is provided in ASCII format.
Coverage: Sep 18, 1851 - Dec 31, 2018, full-text.

Founded in 1889, published by Dow Jones & Company, Inc., major source of news and information about world-shaping global forces: business, finance, economics and money. From WSJ News Mission: "We provide facts, data and information, not assertions or opinions. We believe in full separation between News and Opinion. We pursue exclusive stories, with the goal of breaking all important scoops in our core areas; deep insight and analysis; and actionable intelligence—being the first read and the last word. We have a unique, trusted responsibility as a watchdog and custodian. Across coverage, we seek a genuinely diverse set of voices and experiences with every story striving to speak to as wide an audience as possible."
Full-text PDF articles. Access provided through ProQuest.
Coverage: Jul 8, 1889 - Dec 31, 2010 (excluding Jan.-Jun. 1982).
See Wall Street Journal for full text material from Jan 8, 2010-current, as well as access to WSJ: The Magazine from the Wall Street Journal and Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition.

Well known for in-depth news and analysis of American politics, along with insightful coverage of national and international trends and events. Read by more than a million people worldwide. Access provided through ProQuest. Complete text of recent articles is provided in ASCII format.
Coverage: Full text Jan 1, 1987 - Dec 3, 1996. See Washington Post for full text material from Dec 4, 1996 to present.
While in database, users can also click Publications to access Washington Post Blogs, The Washington Post (Online), and Washington Post Video.

Access information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LoC).
Coverage: Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Note: Researchers unable to access full-text articles in LegalTrac may wish to check HeinOnline.

Global directory for international, national, and regional-level newspapers and online magazines.
Note: Subscriptions to newspapers not included. This is merely a directory service.

A digital-first, daily newsroom with frequent updates on business and law; part of BridgeTower Media.
Digital Editions of both the Daily Record and the Maryland Family Law Update can be accessed by scrolling through the left-hand column on the website. Older editions of Daily Record can be accessed by selecting More on their navigation bar and then selecting Digital Edition; older editions of the Maryland Family Law Update, are also archived, available from February 2012.
A print edition is published weekdays in addition to more than 25 special products a year including Power Lists ranking the key people in Maryland in a variety of industries, Doing Business in Maryland, Way to Be and Expanding Opportunities. It also focuses on women business leaders with Women’s Perspectives, including a monthly podcast, webinar series, every-other-week email newsletter and a special quarterly print content package along with Maryland’s Top 100 Women, Leading Women and Women’s Leadership Summit events.

News source for legal professionals, business leaders, and government officials; covers litigation, policy developments, corporate deals, and more across dozens of practice areas, industries, and jurisdictions. Published Monday through Friday, throughout the day, except major holidays; ~200 articles daily, ~300 news analysis and feature articles monthly. Offers ~60 daily newsletters, one for each news section, delivered between 2:30 and 6:30 a.m. ET each business day. Podcasts freely available via top podcast directories.
Operated by the Portfolio Media company, a subsidiary of LexisNexis.

Consists of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources; similar to what Lexis+ offers, but with a more academic focus, rather than legal. Particularly suitable for students, university staff and library users in search of national and international business, press and company information. Can search using natural language, or input complex Boolean search queries. Large international news archive, in a wide range of languages, including current coverage and deep archives. Can also expand searches to include business and financial news, financial information on national and international companies, market research and sector-specific reports. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including Shepard's® Citations Service and U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; and business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives. Magazines, journals and newsletters including: Manager Magazin, Der Spiegel, Newsweek. Agency reports with updates several times a day, including respected names such as: Agence France Presse, Associated Press, Business Wire, dpa-AFX, PR Newswire. Hard-to-find transcripts of radio and TV broadcasts from the major English-language TV and radio stations including ABC, CBS, CNN, FOX, NBC and NPR, and records of US Congressional Committee hearings and presidential news conferences.
Note: UBalt Law students should use Lexis+ for legal research.

"[A] forum for the bar, bench and others concerned with the civil trial practice and the administration of justice." Flagship publication, published quarterly; on average an issue has five to ten featured articles on various topics in law, as well as an Appellate Watch column.
Coverage: 2006-current, excluding Fall 2006 and Spring 2007. Available in Digital and/or PDF format.