Electronic Resources Directory

Multi-platform public service with offerings on television, online, radio and social media. A private, nonprofit organization created in 1979 by the cable television industry to provide long-form, unfiltered and balanced public affairs programming. C-SPAN receives no government funding, funding comes through license fees paid by television providers — the cable and satellite companies that offer C-SPAN to their customers as a public service — and through advertisements on their digital platforms. C-SPAN's mission is to provide their audience with access to the live, gavel-to-gavel proceedings of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, and to the other forums where public policy is discussed, debated and decided — all without editing, commentary or analysis, and with a balanced presentation of points of view.
C-SPAN covers the House of Representatives, C-SPAN2 covers the Senate and on Saturdays becomes American History TV and on Sundays becomes Book TV, and C-SPAN3 provides additional public affairs programming, including press briefings, congressional hearings and speeches. Platforms also include C-SPAN.org, C‑SPAN Now, C-SPAN Radio, podcasts, email newsletters and a robust presence on social media.

Digital archive of published congressional records of the United States of America from the Continental Congress through the 43rd Congress. Curated by the Library of Congress.
Coverage: 1873-75; the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record.
Titles include: Journals of the Continental Congress, Letters of Delegates to Congress, Elliot's Debates, Farrand's Records, U.S. Serial Set, Maclay's Journal, Bills and Resolutions, Statutes at Large, American State Papers, House Journal, Senate Journal, Senate Executive Journal, Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe, and Congressional Record.

A legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress that operates as a non-party affiliated think tank working exclusively for the United States Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis (products) to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation. This collection provides the public with access to CRS-produced research products created for the sole purpose of supporting Congress in its legislative, oversight, and representational duties. Reports range in length from several pages to more than one-hundred pages and cover the full breadth of topics of interest to Congress. New products are regularly produced to anticipate and respond to issues of interest to Congress on a timely basis. Products evolve as issues do and may be updated to reflect new information, developments, and emergent needs of Congress. The products are not designed to provide comprehensive coverage of the academic literature or address issues that are outside the scope of congressional deliberations. They are marked as “new,” “updated,” or “archived” to indicate their status.
Coverage: This collection provides access to research products produced by the CRS, primarily from September 18, 2018, and forward. For reports pre-dating September 18, 2018, researchers should consult the entry for the Congressional Research Service Reports Collection at UNT Digital Library. For an index of CRS products, click the SEARCH button without entering a search term.

This collection—the largest of its kind—provides access to historic research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress (see Additional Info). CRS is a non-party affiliated think tank that works exclusively for Congress, providing research and analysis to the legislative process.
Coverage: Pre-dating September 18, 2018.
For reports dating September 18, 2018 and forward, researchers should consult the Congressional Research Service Reports database hosted by Congress.gov.

The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Updated daily by 6 a.m. and is published Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays. Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). The Federal Register Index and List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA) are available on govinfo as separate publications. Learn more about the LSA.
Coverage is complete (1936+), and available in PDF and XML formats, which varies depending on issue.
To find a more recent, unofficial issue of the Federal Register, view the Public Inspection issue online at www.federalregister.gov, a service of the National Archives and Records Administration’s Office of the Federal Register. Individuals using this site may find useful the Reader Aids section, located at the bottom of the site.

Vast collection of official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government; a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), a Federal agency in the legislative branch. Researchers can also browse by Specific Collection or by A to Z, Category, Date, Committee, or Author.

Hathi (pronounced hah-tee) is the Hindi word for elephant, an animal highly regarded for its memory, wisdom, and strength. Trust is a core value of research libraries and one of their greatest assets; this database is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. Offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. Also contains a U.S. Federal Government Documents Program. Member Institutions steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.
Note: UBalt is not an institutional member of HathiTrust; not all materials may be accessible by researchers.

Database with many smaller collections, including the Law Journal Library, Historical Archives of State Statutes, Session Laws, English Reports, Federal Documents, and more. Odds are good that something you need is easily accessible in this database, which has extensive user support resources.

Digital scans of archival material from U.S. Federal, state, and territorial governments, and various foreign and international jurisdictions.
Coverage: Varies, U.S. Federal materials begin with 1774.

An online data and mapping tool that allows users to create custom maps, tables, charts and reports using data on demographics, housing, incomes and spending, education, health and more in communities across the United States.

Best known statistical reference publication in the country, containing a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, providing a snapshot of America and its people. Material begins with a guide that helps researchers understand how to read included tables, and each section begins with a synopsis of what data was collected and how. Each table has a clear source. Can be used both as an answer book and as a guide to locating statistical sources.
Published annually by the federal government from 1878 until 2011, then responsibility was assumed by ProQuest who has published this material since 2013.

Contains GAO reports and recommendations providing Congress, federal agencies, and the public timely, fact-based, non-partisan information that can improve government operations and save taxpayers billions of dollars. Also provides guidance to request restricted reports and physical copies. Researchers can also sign up for GAO Updates, keeping them informed of new reports and testimonies.

[Researchers looking for the newest version of the electronic publication should utilize usgovernmentmanual.gov.]
The official handbook of the Federal Government, published annually; issued by National Archives' Office of the Federal Register (OFR). Provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches; information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. Begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.
Coverage: 1935 to present; 1935-1995 editions available from digital imaged file formats in PDF format with full-text search and indexing; 1995-96 to present editions are available in PDF format, with more recent years available as XML (machine-readable) files.

Contains federal government websites (.gov, .mil, etc) in the
Legislative, Executive, or Judicial branches of the government that were at risk of changing (i.e., whitehouse.gov) or disappearing altogether during government transitions were captured. Local government websites, or any other site not part of the federal government domain were out of scope.

Index of literature, including open access (OA) journals, covering history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for over 1,500 journals from as far back as 1910.

Prepared by the Congressional Research Service (CRS), provides legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based on a comprehensive review of Supreme Court case law and, where relevant, historical practices that have defined the text of the Constitution. Regularly updated and written in layman's terms. Useful for a wide audience: from constitutional scholars to those just beginning to learn about the nation's most important legal document. In publication for over 100 years, the Constitution Annotated is a comprehensive, government-sanctioned record of the interpretations of the Constitution.

The primary source for biographical information on Members of the United States Congress and Continental Congresses. Also provides member-specific bibliographies and research collections, when available.

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.

Official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). Contains: short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district; committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress; lists of officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.
Per 44 U.S.C. 721, new editions are made available during the first session of each new Congress. Published digitally beginning with the 1997-1998 (105th) Congressional Directory. Researchers can download materials as ASCII text and Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) files.

A pocket-sized compliation of color photographs of all of the Members of each Congress, including Senate and House leadership, officers, as well as appointed Delegates and the Resident Commissioner. Also includes photos of the President, Vice President, and other Capitol Officials. In addition to photographs, contains information on length of service, political party affiliation, and Congressional district. A "Party Division” page lists the total numbers of Republicans, Democrats, and Independent(s) in the Senate and the House of Representatives. Other sections in the directory include an alphabetical list of Senators and Representatives. Published biennially by the Joint Committee on Printing, U.S. Congress, and sponsored by the U.S. House of Representatives and the United States Senate.
Available from the 105th Congress (Jan. 1, 1997) and forward. Available in PDF format.

Digital scans of archival material from U.S. Congress, including the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873), as well as other important congressional material such as hearings, CRS Reports, Congressional Records, Budgets, and much more.
Coverage: 1774 to the present (Congressional Records).

Browse collections, access historical data, view documents, and listen to interviews. A collaborative project between the Office of the Historian and the Clerk of the House's Office of Art and Archives. Together, the offices serve as the House’s institutional memory, a resource for Members, staff, and the general public.

Provides access to the full text of congressional level publications, including congressional hearings, along with policy documents and the U.S. Statutes at Large. Helps with in-depth research in public policy, historical, and legal areas of interest, along with access to congressional publications and legislative research.
Coverage: 1789 to present.

Legislative history and process search tool provided by ProQuest. Fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. Each history includes the full text of the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are presidential signing statements, Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law.

The permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. Prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Digitized by the Library of Congress and are made available as part of a collaborative effort between the Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the Library of Congress. Every public and private law passed by Congress is published in the Statutes at Large in order of the date it was enacted into law. The laws are arranged by Public Law number and are cited by volume and page number. Also included in the United States Statutes at Large are concurrent resolutions, proclamations by the President, proposed and ratified amendments to the Constitution, and reorganization plans. Until 1948, treaties and international agreements approved by the Senate were also published in the Statutes at Large.
Coverage as of 2022-08-22: Year 1951, 82nd Congress, 1st Session, (Volume 65) through Year 2014, 113th Congress, 2nd Session, (Volume 128). Updates as digitization continues. Volumes that have been digitized are available at a different level of granularity than volumes for 2003 forward.

Provides information about current and past representatives, House leadership, House committees, Legislative Activity, and a section on learning about the House, along with other educational resources. Researchers can also look up what Representatives serve which zip codes. Live House Proceedings are also viewable online when the House is in session.

Provides information about current and past senators, Senate committees, and Senate legislation and records. Included are statistics, lists, and bibliographies. Also has Art & History materials, including an oral history project, fine and decorative art, and historical images and artifacts.

Free online searchable database that contains all of:
—Donald Trump's Twitter 2015-2021
—The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: 1789-1929
—The Public Papers of the Presidents: since 1929
—The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: 1977-2009
—The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: post-2009
Also contains data related to Midterm Elections, U.S. Party Platforms (from 1840), Statements of Administration Policy, White House Press Briefing Transcripts, and Presidential Debate transcripts. Researchers may also be interested in the Statistics, Data and Mapping content. Also has a directory of Presidential Library Resources.

Researchers can find information about the current administration, the various Executive Offices, administration priorities, access the Briefing Room (which includes Legislation, Presidential Actions, Press Briefings, Speeches and Remarks, and Statements and Releases), and learn more about the history of the White House and its occupants.

Digital collection of records and briefs submitted to the United States Supreme Court. Includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements and other official papers of the monumental cases. Full-text searchable.

Official website of the Supreme Court. Includes transcripts and audio of oral arguments (note, researchers may find Oyez to be the more accessible option), latest slip opinions, and files containing copies of the U.S. Reports bound volumes beginning with the 1991 term, volume 502.

A digital collection of the series of bound case reporters that are the official reports of decisions for the Supreme Court of the United States. Researchers can locate opinions by Volume, Authoring Justice, or Major Case Topic. Search results can be refined by Subject, Major Case Topic, Original Format, Date, Part of [Publication], and Authority Justice.
Coverage: Volumes 1-570, from 1754 through the 2012-2013 Term. Collection will continue to grow when additional volumes are digitized.