Electronic Resources Directory

Topics cover nearly all academic disciplines, including law, women's studies, psychology, anthropology, ethnic and multicultural studies, and science and technology. Coverage includes both non-open access journals as well as a curated selection of more than 5,000 open access (OA) journals. Also includes more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to the present; updated monthly.

Full text coverage for over 1,300 peer-reviewed journals covering business subjects such as accounting, finance, economics and marketing.

Provides access to journal and magazine articles, conference papers and conference proceedings focusing on communications and related subjects including linguistics, rhetoric and discourse and media studies. Some full text is available.
As of July 2022, includes 944 active indexed and abstracted journals; 904 are peer-reviewed, 309 are open access (OA).

A legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress that operates as a non-party affiliated think tank working exclusively for the United States Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis (products) to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation. This collection provides the public with access to CRS-produced research products created for the sole purpose of supporting Congress in its legislative, oversight, and representational duties. Reports range in length from several pages to more than one-hundred pages and cover the full breadth of topics of interest to Congress. New products are regularly produced to anticipate and respond to issues of interest to Congress on a timely basis. Products evolve as issues do and may be updated to reflect new information, developments, and emergent needs of Congress. The products are not designed to provide comprehensive coverage of the academic literature or address issues that are outside the scope of congressional deliberations. They are marked as “new,” “updated,” or “archived” to indicate their status.
Coverage: This collection provides access to research products produced by the CRS, primarily from September 18, 2018, and forward. For reports pre-dating September 18, 2018, researchers should consult the entry for the Congressional Research Service Reports Collection at UNT Digital Library. For an index of CRS products, click the SEARCH button without entering a search term.

This collection—the largest of its kind—provides access to historic research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress (see Additional Info). CRS is a non-party affiliated think tank that works exclusively for Congress, providing research and analysis to the legislative process.
Coverage: Pre-dating September 18, 2018.
For reports dating September 18, 2018 and forward, researchers should consult the Congressional Research Service Reports database hosted by Congress.gov.

Millions of searchable citations to multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, with 3 million full-text materials available for download; designated as the official dissertation repository by the United States Library of Congress.
from 1861 to the present. Over one million full-text dissertations are available for download.

Contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents, covering a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers. Researchers can also limit search results by targeted education level or by intended article audience.
Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.

Hathi (pronounced hah-tee) is the Hindi word for elephant, an animal highly regarded for its memory, wisdom, and strength. Trust is a core value of research libraries and one of their greatest assets; this database is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. Offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. Also contains a U.S. Federal Government Documents Program. Member Institutions steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.
Note: UBalt is not an institutional member of HathiTrust; not all materials may be accessible by researchers.

Covers all aspects of the humanities; content pertains to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Offers full text for hundreds of journals, books, and other sources from around the world.

Millions of journal articles, primary sources (including underground newspapers, magazines, and journals), maps, photographs, and more across 75 disciplines. More than 100,000 ebooks and growing. Includes ARTstor, hosting 3+ million images of artworks.
The JSTOR Understanding Series also contains the United States Constitution collection, linking academic work to relevant sections of the Constitution.

Provides multimedia collections of rare publications, photographs, and manuscripts.

Millions of indexed citations/bibliographic information to scholarly publications related to human communication in any form. World-wide coverage. From MLA, "Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation, comparative linguistics, and history and theory of linguistics. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, video, theater), rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language and literature, and the history of printing and publishing."
Coverage: 1880+, but most materials are 1920s or later; updates throughout year.

Union catalog of millions of records that represent open access resources, built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Includes more than 50 million records that represent digital resources from more than 2,000 contributors. Records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click.
Subject coverage includes a wide range of academic disciplines; updated quarterly.

Index of theses and research papers presented at conferences worldwide. Subjects cover a wide range of academic disciplines.

Large index with hundreds of full-text journals, from 30 countries in 30 languages. Broad coverage of the discipline of philosophy and subject-specific journals. Subject coverage includes ethics, logic, social and political philosophy, and the philosophy of education.

Bibliographic/index database of journal articles, conference papers, trade publications and government documents focusing on all aspects of national and global public policy issues. This includes banking and public finance, criminal justice, economic policy and taxation, education and education policy, emigration and immigration, energy and energy policy, ethics, government, humanitarian issues, industry and labor, law and legislation, natural disasters and poverty, politics and elections, social policy, and transportation.

Open access research platform designed for scholars to share their publications on a wide variety of subjects; also contains working papers and forthcoming articles from many law school faculty members. Except for materials with third-party copyrights, most materials are freely downloadable in PDF format.

Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include ethic and racial studies, marriage and family and rural and urban sociology. Types of content include journal articles, books, working papers and conference proceedings.

Index of literature, including open access (OA) journals, covering history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for over 1,500 journals from as far back as 1910.

Incorporates many types of resources, so that a single consolidated search can yield thorough research. A base of over 100,000 fact-checked articles and historical Britannica Year in Review supplemental articles, plus an expansive collection of multimedia including images, videos, audio, interactives, and infographics.
Reference dictionary definitions from Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate® Dictionary, journal and periodical content provided by EBSCO, hand-picked Web’s Best Sites links, and primary sources & e-books from multiple sources including the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale Law School.
All articles have computer text-to-speech options. Look for the speaker icon in the main toolbar.

A legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress that operates as a non-party affiliated think tank working exclusively for the United States Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis (products) to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation. This collection provides the public with access to CRS-produced research products created for the sole purpose of supporting Congress in its legislative, oversight, and representational duties. Reports range in length from several pages to more than one-hundred pages and cover the full breadth of topics of interest to Congress. New products are regularly produced to anticipate and respond to issues of interest to Congress on a timely basis. Products evolve as issues do and may be updated to reflect new information, developments, and emergent needs of Congress. The products are not designed to provide comprehensive coverage of the academic literature or address issues that are outside the scope of congressional deliberations. They are marked as “new,” “updated,” or “archived” to indicate their status.
Coverage: This collection provides access to research products produced by the CRS, primarily from September 18, 2018, and forward. For reports pre-dating September 18, 2018, researchers should consult the entry for the Congressional Research Service Reports Collection at UNT Digital Library. For an index of CRS products, click the SEARCH button without entering a search term.

This collection—the largest of its kind—provides access to historic research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress (see Additional Info). CRS is a non-party affiliated think tank that works exclusively for Congress, providing research and analysis to the legislative process.
Coverage: Pre-dating September 18, 2018.
For reports dating September 18, 2018 and forward, researchers should consult the Congressional Research Service Reports database hosted by Congress.gov.

Offers materials that show international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics and current events. Content includes articles from publications around the world, podcasts, videos and interactive maps.

Offers coverage of current, polarizing social issues. Content includes essays, articles, podcasts and videos.

Presented in an interactive chart format, NSSL allows users to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws. The database is updated regularly as new laws are passed or updated.
As of 2022-06-25: The current 8th edition, along with the 7th, 6th, and 5th editions are available. Users can use the database to compare the same laws as they existed in 2005, 2008, 2015, and 2018, and to make more current comparisons with laws added or updated in the database since 2018. The upcoming 9th edition will have new chapters.

Search for and explore the unique materials, from manuscripts and photographs to ephemera, oral histories, maps, broadsides, and more.

A robust collection of full-text popular magazines, e-books, primary source documents, and an extensive collection of more than 2 million images, maps, and flags.

If you are looking for popular, big-name magazines, past or current, odds are great that they are in here! Designed for high school libraries, but provides accessible starting points for all researchers. Full-text reference database of hundreds of popular magazines and reference e-books covering many subjects, including history, science and health. Also includes thousands of full-text primary source documents and videos from the Associated Press.

Best known statistical reference publication in the country, containing a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, providing a snapshot of America and its people. Material begins with a guide that helps researchers understand how to read included tables, and each section begins with a synopsis of what data was collected and how. Each table has a clear source. Can be used both as an answer book and as a guide to locating statistical sources.
Published annually by the federal government from 1878 until 2011, then responsibility was assumed by ProQuest who has published this material since 2013.

The UNRIC Info Point & Library issues backgrounders on various subjects that list relevant URLs within the UN system.

Indexes economics-related literature, including journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews.

Full text coverage for over 1,300 peer-reviewed journals covering business subjects such as accounting, finance, economics and marketing.

Consists of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources; similar to what Lexis+ offers, but with a more academic focus, rather than legal. Particularly suitable for students, university staff and library users in search of national and international business, press and company information. Can search using natural language, or input complex Boolean search queries. Large international news archive, in a wide range of languages, including current coverage and deep archives. Can also expand searches to include business and financial news, financial information on national and international companies, market research and sector-specific reports. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including Shepard's® Citations Service and U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; and business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives. Magazines, journals and newsletters including: Manager Magazin, Der Spiegel, Newsweek. Agency reports with updates several times a day, including respected names such as: Agence France Presse, Associated Press, Business Wire, dpa-AFX, PR Newswire. Hard-to-find transcripts of radio and TV broadcasts from the major English-language TV and radio stations including ABC, CBS, CNN, FOX, NBC and NPR, and records of US Congressional Committee hearings and presidential news conferences.
Note: UBalt Law students should use Lexis+ for legal research.

Founded in 1889, published by Dow Jones & Company, Inc., major source of news and information about world-shaping global forces: business, finance, economics and money. From WSJ News Mission: "We provide facts, data and information, not assertions or opinions. We believe in full separation between News and Opinion. We pursue exclusive stories, with the goal of breaking all important scoops in our core areas; deep insight and analysis; and actionable intelligence—being the first read and the last word. We have a unique, trusted responsibility as a watchdog and custodian. Across coverage, we seek a genuinely diverse set of voices and experiences with every story striving to speak to as wide an audience as possible."
Full-text PDF articles. Access provided through ProQuest.
Coverage: Jul 8, 1889 - Dec 31, 2010 (excluding Jan.-Jun. 1982).
See Wall Street Journal for full text material from Jan 8, 2010-current, as well as access to WSJ: The Magazine from the Wall Street Journal and Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition.

Founded in 1889, published by Dow Jones & Company, Inc., major source of news and information about world-shaping global forces: business, finance, economics and money. From WSJ News Mission: "We provide facts, data and information, not assertions or opinions. We believe in full separation between News and Opinion. We pursue exclusive stories, with the goal of breaking all important scoops in our core areas; deep insight and analysis; and actionable intelligence—being the first read and the last word. We have a unique, trusted responsibility as a watchdog and custodian. Across coverage, we seek a genuinely diverse set of voices and experiences with every story striving to speak to as wide an audience as possible."
Full-text PDF articles. Access provided through ProQuest.
Coverage: Jan 8, 2010 - current; WSJ: The Magazine from the Wall Street Journal, Jun 2011-Apr 2013; Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition, Jan 2, 1984 - current.

Full-text database of top journals and magazines related to criminal justice and criminology research. Covers all related subjects including criminal law and investigations, law enforcement, forensic sciences, corrections and prisons, policing, history of crime, probation and parole, and substance abuse and addiction.

A comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications and corrections and prisons. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Coverage: 1981-present. To view included titles and exact coverage, once you are accessing the database, click the Publications link above the search box.

Provides access to full-text of journals published by SAGE and participating societies that focus on different aspects of criminal justice and criminology such as juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, policing and family and domestic violence.
Selecting [Browse] in the top navigation bar will allow researchers to view a title list of all available titles within the library's subscription.

Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Researchers can also explore related works, citations, authors, and publications. By integrating one's academic account for access (See additional information) researchers can quickly locate materials through the library, where available.
Researchers can also access unannotated case law utilizing Google Scholar.

Full-text database for environmental studies. Subjects include: ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, policy, and technology, geography, marine and freshwater science, natural resources, pollution and waste management, renewable energy sources, social impact of the environment, and urban planning covering ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental policy, sustainability and other related subjects.
Coverage: As of July 2022, Environment Complete includes 1,510 active indexed and abstracted journals; 1,346 are peer-reviewed, 537 are active, full-text, non-open access journals, 344 of which are not available in any version of Academic Search, and 366 are specifically-curated global open access (OA) journals, 132 of which are peer-reviewed.

Note: Utilizing this link will by default limit your searches to Environment Complete; if you wish to search all of EBSCOhost, or additional titles within it, select the Choose Databases link above the search bar to make those changes.

Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Content includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more, along with covering the connections between the environment and related disciplines, such as agriculture, law, health, education, and technology.
Researchers without access to University of Baltimore databases can utilize the full database for free through EBSCO Sustainability.

Free research database for library and information science studies, providing indexing and abstracting for hundreds of key journals, books, research reports.

For legal researchers: contains research guides, bibliographies, dictionaries, and biographies, including Bibliography of Early American Law (BEAL).
For faculty and administrators: houses a section on Legal Education and much more.
For librarians: brings together checklists, newsletters, cataloging tools, and more.

Provides wide range of full-text consumer health information, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more. Materials include magazines, pamphlets, reference books, and patient education fact sheets. Includes access to Clinical Reference Systems reports, in English and Spanish, and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

Full text for 700+ journals covering such topics as biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
CINAHL Subject Headings follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.

Created by the United States National Library of Medicine. Bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.

Provides more than 180,000 full-text articles from over 100 journals covering all aspects of psychology. Database content and journals are produced by the American Psychological Association and other allied organizations.

Abstracts collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature. Focused on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioral and social science research and literature, with relevance to a host of related disciplines, including neuroscience, business, nursing, law, and education. Includes features such as First Posting for journal records ensuring access to the earliest publication of a journal article.
Coverage: begins with the 17th century, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present, including publications from more than 50 countries, published in 29 languages

Index of psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys and other assessment tools. Provides descriptive information and links to peer-reviewed literature, technical reports or dissertations. Produced by the American Psychological Association.

Extensive full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers, and students. Includes hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo, covering a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychiatry, psychology, behavioral sciences, and related disciplines. Particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling. Also covers Anthropology, emotional and behavior characteristics, mental processes, and observational and experimental methods.