LibGuides: Electronic Resources Directory: Electronic Resources Directory

Don't want to be guided to a database by subject? Would you rather go directly to the A-Z Databases List?

How to Use Our Databases

We are happy to assist by pointing researchers towards the right resources. This Electronic Resources Directory is a finding aid intended to help you find the right resource for your specific research. Browse the side-directory to locate your area of research; links will take you to a collection of electronic resources most useful for your research and complementing research guidance.

If you prefer to browse our databases by resource title, instead of by subject, please select the A-Z Database List tab.

Access
Many, but not all, of the electronic resources offered through this guide are free to access. Any resource with an icon indicating it requires a netID to access means that resource is licensed for University of Baltimore School of Law student, faculty, and staff use only. Most databases can be accessed from any computer on law school wifi or off-campus (after authentication). However, a few resources can only be used in the law library with a librarian-provided password. If you have access questions, please contact the Reference Team for assistance with those at lawlibref@ubalt.edu.

Off-Campus Access
If you are a current member of the University of Baltimore School of Law community (law student, faculty, and staff), you can access restricted databases and other electronic resources from off-campus by using the library’s proxy links. To do so, when off-campus, you should use the links provided on this guide to access subscription-based databases. If you click on a link to a resource that requires user verification, you will be prompted to enter your University of Baltimore netID and password. Some databases must first be authenticated on-campus before they will work off-campus. If you have access questions, please contact the Reference Team for assistance with those at lawlibref@ubalt.edu.

What is a proxy/proxy URL? A proxy URL is just a technical way of saying that a URL (a web link) has been configured to check whether a computer has permission to access the website/database located at that URL. Proxy URLs are used for any databases that are limited to specific users, such as those with UBalt or UBalt Law credentials. If you are on a campus internet connection you will barely notice the proxy. If you are not using a campus internet connection you may be prompted by the proxy server to enter your UBalt netID; that's a technical way of saying the computer is acting like a bouncer trying to verify your age before letting you into a bar or club (the database)—instead of giving a bouncer an ID card, you need to provide the proxy server with your UBalt netID. Once you do, you should have no issues! Note, some databases do require you to login using on-campus internet for the first time.

Major Legal Databases

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Available only to current UBalt Law students, faculty and staff. Individual login required.
Access case law, statutes, regulations, and administrative decisions (primary law) from all 50 states and federal resources. Additional material includes Headnotes, the West Key Number System, the KeyCite citator, Notes to Decisions, and a large selection of secondary sources. One of the three major law databases; owned by Thomson Reuters.
Westlaw Training and Support.
Law student portal.
About Thomson Reuters Legal.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Available only to current UB Law students, faculty and staff. Individual login required.
Access case law, statutes, regulations, and administrative decisions (primary law) from all 50 states and federal resources. Additional material includes select law school case briefs, Headnotes, the Shepard's citator, Citing Decisions, and a large selection of secondary sources. One of the three major legal research databases; owned by the RELX Group.
Lexis 1L Resource Center.
Lexis 2L/3L Resource Center.
LexisNexis Training and Support Center.
About LexisNexis.
RELX Group.
Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Available only to current UBalt Law students, faculty and staff. Individual login required.
Access case law, statutes, regulations, and administrative decisions (primary law) from all 50 states and federal resources. One of the three major law databases; owned by Bloomberg Industry Group.

Note: If you don't have an account yet, register for one here using your UBalt email address. An activation code is not required.
About Bloomberg Industry Group.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Database with many smaller collections, including the Law Journal Library, Historical Archives of State Statutes, Session Laws, English Reports, Federal Documents, and more. Odds are good that something you need is easily accessible in this database, which has extensive user support resources.
When using Hein, if you find you need help, click the Search Help link under the search box, or the Help link in the top information bar. Additionally, feel free to explore the items below.
Getting Started in HeinOnline.
Using HeinOnline.
HeinOnline Knowledge Base.
Hein's Tip of the Week.
HeinOnline's Suite of Tools.
What's New at Hein?

Key to Database Icons

Icon	Meaning
	Available to University of Baltimore members only; you may need a University of Baltimore netID to access this resource if off-campus.
	Available to University of Baltimore School of Law members only; you may need a UB Law netID to access this resource off-campus.
	Official federal database containing government information. UBalt Law Library is a member of the Federal Depository Library Program, providing public access to U.S. Government documents.
	A specific HeinOnline Database, contained within our HeinOnline Subscription.
	This resource is available to researchers using UBalt Law Library computer terminals.
	Some or all features of this resource require you to first create a user account with your UBalt Law netID; you may need to be on-campus to do so.
	This resource has e-book options available.
	This resource has audio options available.
	This resource has video options available.