Electronic Resources Directory

A legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress that operates as a non-party affiliated think tank working exclusively for the United States Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis (products) to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation. This collection provides the public with access to CRS-produced research products created for the sole purpose of supporting Congress in its legislative, oversight, and representational duties. Reports range in length from several pages to more than one-hundred pages and cover the full breadth of topics of interest to Congress. New products are regularly produced to anticipate and respond to issues of interest to Congress on a timely basis. Products evolve as issues do and may be updated to reflect new information, developments, and emergent needs of Congress. The products are not designed to provide comprehensive coverage of the academic literature or address issues that are outside the scope of congressional deliberations. They are marked as “new,” “updated,” or “archived” to indicate their status.
Coverage: This collection provides access to research products produced by the CRS, primarily from September 18, 2018, and forward. For reports pre-dating September 18, 2018, researchers should consult the entry for the Congressional Research Service Reports Collection at UNT Digital Library. For an index of CRS products, click the SEARCH button without entering a search term.

This collection—the largest of its kind—provides access to historic research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress (see Additional Info). CRS is a non-party affiliated think tank that works exclusively for Congress, providing research and analysis to the legislative process.
Coverage: Pre-dating September 18, 2018.
For reports dating September 18, 2018 and forward, researchers should consult the Congressional Research Service Reports database hosted by Congress.gov.

Full-text database for environmental studies. Subjects include: ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, policy, and technology, geography, marine and freshwater science, natural resources, pollution and waste management, renewable energy sources, social impact of the environment, and urban planning covering ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental policy, sustainability and other related subjects.
Coverage: As of July 2022, Environment Complete includes 1,510 active indexed and abstracted journals; 1,346 are peer-reviewed, 537 are active, full-text, non-open access journals, 344 of which are not available in any version of Academic Search, and 366 are specifically-curated global open access (OA) journals, 132 of which are peer-reviewed.

Note: Utilizing this link will by default limit your searches to Environment Complete; if you wish to search all of EBSCOhost, or additional titles within it, select the Choose Databases link above the search bar to make those changes.

Vast collection of official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government; a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), a Federal agency in the legislative branch. Researchers can also browse by Specific Collection or by A to Z, Category, Date, Committee, or Author.

Bibliographic/index database of journal articles, conference papers, trade publications and government documents focusing on all aspects of national and global public policy issues. This includes banking and public finance, criminal justice, economic policy and taxation, education and education policy, emigration and immigration, energy and energy policy, ethics, government, humanitarian issues, industry and labor, law and legislation, natural disasters and poverty, politics and elections, social policy, and transportation.

Best known statistical reference publication in the country, containing a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, providing a snapshot of America and its people. Material begins with a guide that helps researchers understand how to read included tables, and each section begins with a synopsis of what data was collected and how. Each table has a clear source. Can be used both as an answer book and as a guide to locating statistical sources.
Published annually by the federal government from 1878 until 2011, then responsibility was assumed by ProQuest who has published this material since 2013.

[Researchers looking for the newest version of the electronic publication should utilize usgovernmentmanual.gov.]
The official handbook of the Federal Government, published annually; issued by National Archives' Office of the Federal Register (OFR). Provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches; information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. Begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.
Coverage: 1935 to present; 1935-1995 editions available from digital imaged file formats in PDF format with full-text search and indexing; 1995-96 to present editions are available in PDF format, with more recent years available as XML (machine-readable) files.

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. Those wanting the regularly updated online version, the e-CFR, should follow the link provided on the database. Also helpful are the Related Resources located at the end of the webpage.
Those relying on the CFR for legal research should verify their results against the most current official edition of the CFR, the daily Federal Register, and the List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA).

The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Updated daily by 6 a.m. and is published Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays. Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). The Federal Register Index and List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA) are available on govinfo as separate publications. Learn more about the LSA.
Coverage is complete (1936+), and available in PDF and XML formats, which varies depending on issue.
To find a more recent, unofficial issue of the Federal Register, view the Public Inspection issue online at www.federalregister.gov, a service of the National Archives and Records Administration’s Office of the Federal Register. Individuals using this site may find useful the Reader Aids section, located at the bottom of the site.

Collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Special collections include: COVID-19, CRS Reports & Issue Briefs, Lessons Learned Information Sharing, GAO Reports & Testimony, and NPS (Naval Postgraduate School) Theses & Research Reports. Sources include but aren't limited to: federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private sector entities; and think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities. A robust collection of Research Tools is provided also.
Note: Access is unrestricted if utilizing the database through a campus internet connection, otherwise access is limited by HSDL.

An online data and mapping tool that allows users to create custom maps, tables, charts and reports using data on demographics, housing, incomes and spending, education, health and more in communities across the United States.

Regulations.gov provides the development of Federal regulations and other related documents issued by the U.S. government. Individuals may find, read, and comment on regulatory issues as well as final regulations, notices, scientific and technical findings, guidance, and adjudications. Users can also subscribe to email notifications of changes to dockets of interest.

Researchers can find information about the current administration, the various Executive Offices, administration priorities, access the Briefing Room (which includes Legislation, Presidential Actions, Press Briefings, Speeches and Remarks, and Statements and Releases), and learn more about the history of the White House and its occupants.

Specialized tax and accounting research tool, particularly useful for tax planning and compliance, accounting, audits, financial reporting, and related research, including specialized tax topics. Contains Research Institute of America (RIA) and Warren, Gorham & Lamont (WG&L) tax products, including Federal Treatises, Journals, and the WG&L Tax Dictionary. Researchers can also simultaneously search Checkpoint, IRS.gov, TEI, Big 4, and AICPA.

Full text coverage for over 1,300 peer-reviewed journals covering business subjects such as accounting, finance, economics and marketing.

Available to UBalt Law students, faculty and staff. Individual login required. NOTE: You must use a networked office or lab computer in the Law School for the initial sign-in and registration; you must also use your UBalt email address to register.

Source of daily news, analysis, and commentary for tax professionals. Also provides several research and reference tools, as well as specialized services focusing on exempt organizations, state tax audit guidance, and international tax treaties. Founded in 1970.

For those unable to register, the publisher of Tax Notes, Tax Analysts, also provides many free resources.