Law Library User Guide

Who: All visitors, regardless of alumni status, with legitimate legal research needs may use the library Monday through Friday from 9am through 5pm after receiving approval.

How: Please email the library at lawlibref@ubalt.edu to request access. You must include your name, date of proposed visit, and purpose for visit. Unfortunately, neither same-day requests nor next-day requests sent after business hours can be accommodated. 

When: Once you've received email confirmation from library staff you may sign in at the building's Security Desk during your appointment time. You must wear a visitor badge at all times within the building.

Library Resources for Public Patrons: 

• Database Access: Alumni can access many of our databases through the public access computers in the 7th Floor atrium. Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg Law are not available, though we do provide a limited version of Fastcase that includes cases and statutes. Materials can be saved onto a personal USB flash drive or emailed. We do not have public printers.
• Wireless Internet Access: Daily WiFi passwords can be requested at the Circulation and Information Desk on the 7th Floor.
• Scanners: Patrons may utilize the Law Library scanners. The scanners are free and self-serve. Scans can be saved onto a personal USB flash drive or emailed.
• Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) Materials: Patrons have free access to our depository collection during regular business hours; appointments must still be scheduled and confirmed in advance, as explained above. The majority of UBalt Law's FDLP collection is digital and can be freely accessed by anyone remotely. If you have questions about the print or microformat materials, please contact our FDLP Coordinator. 

University of Baltimore Alumni who wish to borrow materials from the Law Library must have a current Alumni Bee Card. If you do not have an Alumni Bee Card already, you can request one from the University here. All Alumni Bee Cards must be activated for borrowing privileges. To do so, visit the Circulation and Information Desk on the 7th Floor during regular business hours, Monday through Friday.

Alumni Borrowing Privileges: Alumni may borrow items from the circulating collection for 21 days, with a maximum of three renewals, for a total of four loan periods.

Library Resources for Alumni: 

• Database Access: Alumni can access many of our databases through the public access computers in the 7th Floor atrium. Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg Law are not available, though we do provide a limited version of Fastcase that includes cases and statutes.
• Wireless Internet Access: Daily WiFi passwords can be requested at the Circulation and Information Desk on the 7th Floor.
• UMBC: Through a reciprocal arrangement with UMBC, UBalt alumni have borrowing privileges at the AOK Library, and UMBC alumni have borrowing privileges at our library.
• Scanners: Alumni may utilize the Law Library scanners. The scanners are free and self-serve. Scans can be saved onto a personal USB flash drive or emailed.