Digital materials now dominate scholarly research, reflecting how easy they are to search and access. Books and other information not published in journals (theses, white papers, non-print media, etc.) are still an essential part of the research process, though. Books allow authors to provide more in-depth treatment of a subject or present a subject in a broader context than a journal article allows. Although we still usually think of books as physical objects, the digital revolution has improved access here as well. Many books have been digitized and are available through both commercial databases and free search services such as Google Books. Even print books are easier to find as a result of online library catalogs. Here are three ways to find books and other non-journal resources:
The Library Catalog indexes books that are owned by the UB Law Library, other libraries in the University System of Maryland (USMAI), and beyond. The catalog contains bibliographic records of each item, but not the full text of the item itself. You can search the record as a whole or narrow your search to title, author, subject and a few less common fields. If a book is available through one of our databases (for instance, The Making of Modern Law contains the full text of many historical treatises) the catalog record will include a link. A limited selection of e-books is also included. For more information on searching the catalog refer to Tips and Tricks for Searching the Catalog.
Google Books is similar to Google Scholar in that it scans digitized books for your search terms, which is especially helpful if the information is at a chapter level or isn't otherwise reflected in a traditional catalog record. Google Books displays snippets of the work showing your search term and surrounding text, and it provides links to obtain the full text, either through a library or purchase. Google Books is by no means comprehensive: it includes the collections of several major research libraries, but copyright holders may opt not to include their works.
Databases: Some of the library's databases include the full text of treatises. These include The Making of Modern Law, HathiTrust Digital Library, and Hein Online Legal Classics. These titles will show up when you search the Library Catalog. The three CALR databases (Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg) also offer full-text treatises, but these are not reflected in the Library Catalog. Some of the titles that would be useful to a researcher in Toxic Torts are:
Westlaw
Zuckerman and Raskoff, Environmental Insurance Litigation
Mandelker, NEPA Law and Litigation, 2d
Manaster and Selmi, State Environmental Law
Commerce Clearing House, Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Substances Compliance
Lexis
American Law Institute Continuing Legal Education materials: Hazardous Waste
American Law Institute Continuing Legal Education materials: Toxic Torts & Environmental Matters
Matthew Bender, Brownfields Law and Practice: The Cleanup and Redevelopment of Contaminated Land
Matthew Bender: The Law of Hazardous Waste
Gold and Warshaw, Toxic Substances Control Act
Bloomberg
Practicing Law Institute, Product Liability Litigation: Current Law, Strategies, and Best Practices
BNA Books, Occupational Safety and Health Law
BNA Books, Spill Reporting Procedures Guide
This is a sampling of relevant titles that the UB Law Library owns. You can also access books from other libraries using our catalog.
Hint: Try searching the term "toxic torts" in the Subject field to filter out false hits.
Toxic Torts in a Nutshell by 
