Skip to Main Content

Animal Law: Legislation

The field of law dealing with vertebrates other than humans. The field cuts across many traditional doctrinal areas (e.g., contracts & torts) as well as jurisprudence. Topics include wildlife-management law and laws concerning the treatment of domestic an

Federal

Westlaw's United States Code Annotated Index Search Results on "Animal" 

 

Lexis' United States Code Service Index Term "Animals"

 

Animal Welfare Information Center

The Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) is mandated by the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) to provide information for improved animal care and use in research, testing, and teaching. 

    

Animal Welfare Act

The Animal Welfare Act was signed into law in 1966. It is the only Federal law in the United States that regulates the treatment of animals in research, exhibition, transport, and by dealers. Other laws, policies, and guidelines may include additional species coverage or specifications for animal care and use, but all refer to the Animal Welfare Act as the minimum acceptable standard. The Act is enforced by USDA, APHIS, Animal Care.

Maryland

Each state in the United States has enacted statutes to punish individuals who engage in cruelty to animals. While there are many similar .  characteristics, the actual codified provisions vary drastically from state to state. Maryland's compilation is current through all legislation from the 2016 Regular Session of the General Assembly.

HomeSince 1951, the Animal Welfare Institute has been alleviating suffering inflicted on animals by humans. As the unsurpassed leader in obtaining laws to benefit animals in need, AWI’s Government Affairs division provides information to Members of Congress and their staffs.

Animal Law Resource Center logo The Animal Law Resource Center provides access to legislation and legal matters pertaining to animals and the law. Information concerning animal cruelty, animal control, laboratory animal welfare, wildlife management and other issues concerning animals in our society. This content is updated regularly and is presented in searchable databases to help legal professionals, students, advocates and the general public make sense of a wealth of information and resources regarding legal and legislative issues. (website)

     Search laws by state

     Check Bill status...updated weekly

Animal Legal & Historical Center Maps of U.S. Laws. ​​Animallaw.info provides a number of state maps that are 50 state statutory surveys

HeinOnline Subject Compilations of State Laws. Contains annotated citations including state law surveys on a wide variety of subjects pertaining to animal law, including:  

  • Animal Feeding Operations
  • Animal Shelters
  • Animal Welfare

  • Animals                                                                                                                                                                                                                            

Lexis 50 State Surveys, Statutes & Regulations. Compare states in their treatment of topical issues, with links to the laws, and provides a brief federal context for state issues                                                                                                                                                                             

Westlaw 50 State Statutory and Regulatory Surveys. Westlaw 50 State Surveys provides a comparison of state and federal statutes and regulations, covering topics of law such as Animal Welfare.