Local Maryland Government: Book Resources from U. B. Law Library

This edition continues the emphasis of prior editions on such topics as the relationship of local governments to state and federal governments; the needs of local governments for territory, for personnel, and for adequate financing; and the principal activities and possible liabilities of local government. There is increased attention to land use control, an area of growing activity on the part of institutions, ranging from the U.S. Supreme Court to local zoning boards. This includes material not found in some books in this field, on such important concepts as “smart growth,” “new urbanism,” and “regulatory takings.” (Amazon)

Available from Westlaw

This set gives you a fundamental understanding of local government law and upcoming trends. It focuses on the entity's power to act and provides a fresh approach to solving local government problems. It thoroughly describes the regulatory powers of government and their application. The text also takes municipal law a step further by emphasizing the interrelationships among the various units of government: local and federal government, localities and the state, and between local government entities.

Municipal Legal Forms contains the full text of Municipal Legal Forms, a 16-volume forms set published by West, a Thomson Reuters business. It contains municipal governmental and business forms such as licenses and applications, contracts and leases.

This is a comprehensive digest of cases interpreting or applying city and county ordinances

also available on Westlaw

McQuillin Law of Municipal Corporations is a jurisdiction-based treatise that provides expert coverage of all aspects of municipal law via a uniform decimal numbering system

"This Legal Guide provides practical insight and guidance to help legal counsel for state, tribal, and local governments, as well as businesses and citizens to protect lives, property, public safety, and the public welfare consistent with relevelant laws and the Constitution--while also ensuring government and business clients act both according to the law and in a way that does not jeopardize their ability to obtain or maintain funding for the extraordinary costs generated by disaster events." (Amazon)

1st-6th; federal; also available from Westlaw