Family Law

• Adoption Law and Practice, edited by Joan H. Hollinger; Available on Lexis+ (login required) (Updated annually)
• The Adoption Law Handbook: Practice, Resources, and Forms for Family Law Professionals, 2nd ed., by Jennifer Fairfax; Available in print - 10th floor stacks KF545.F35 2019

Courts

• Benchbook on Substance Abuse and Addiction for Family Courts, by Barbara Babb; Available in print - Reading Room Reserves KFM1294.5 .B33 2011
• Caring for Families in Court: An Essential Approach to Family Justice, by Barbara Babb; Available in print - Reading Room Reserves KF505.5 .B33 2019

Custody of Children

• Child Custody and Visitation Law and Practice, by Sandra Morgan Little; Available on Lexis+ (login required)
• Child Custody Practice and Procedure, by Linda Elrod; Available on Westlaw (login required)
• Modern Child Custody Practice, by Jeff Atkinson; Available on Lexis+ (login required)
• Nolo’s Essential Guide to Child Custody & Support, by Emily Doskow; Available in print - Stacks KF547.D67 2012

Criminal Law

• Prosecution and Defense of Sex Crimes, by B. Anthony Morosco; Available on Lexis+ (login required)

Divorce

• Child Support Guidelines: Interpretation and Application, by Laura W. Morgan; Available on Westlaw (login required)
• Determining Child and Spousal Support, by Marian F. Dobbs; Available on Westlaw (login required) 
• Equitable Distribution of Property, by Brett R. Turner; Available in print although no longer updated as of 2009 - Stacks KF524.G64 2005
• Lindey and Parley on Separation Agreements and Antenuptial Contracts, 2nd ed., Alexander Lindey and Louis I. Parley; Available on Lexis+ (login required) 
• Nolo’s Essential Guide to Divorce by Emily Doskow; Available in print - Reading Room Reserves KF535.Z9 D67 2012
• Principles of the Law of Family Dissolution: Analysis and Recommendations by American Law Institute; Available in print - Reading Room Reserves KF535 .P75 2002  
• Qualified Domestic Relations Orders, by Michael B. Snyder; Available on Westlaw (login required) 
• Qualified Domestic Relations Orders: Strategy and Liability for the Family Law Attorney, by Raymond S. Dietrich; Available on Lexis+ (login required) 
• Tax Aspects of Marital Dissolution, by Leon Gabinet; Available on Westlaw (login required) and in print - Stacks KF6333 .W74 1987  
• Valuation and Distribution of Marital Property, by Arnold H. Rutkin et al.; Available on Lexis+ (login required)
• Valuation of Divorce Assets, by Barth H. Goldberg; Available on Westlaw (login required)
• Valuing Specific Assets in Divorce, by Robert D. Feder and Dr. Lester Barenbaum; Available on Westlaw (login required)

Domestic Violence

• Domestic Torts: Family Violence, Conflict, and Sexual Abuse, by Leonard Karp and Cheryl L. Karp; Available in print although no longer updated as of 2010 - Stacks KF1269 .K37 2005
• Domestic Violence Practice and Procedure, by Fredrica L. Lehrman; Available in print although not updated as of 2009 - Stacks KF1269. L44  
• Myers on Evidence of Interpersonal Violence Child Maltreatment, Intimate Partner Violence, Rape, Stalking and Elder Abuse, 6th ed., by John E. B. Myers; Available on Westlaw (login required)
• Prosecution and Defense of Sex Crimes, by B. Anthony Morosco; Available on Lexis+ (login required)

Family Law

• Family Law and Practice, edited by Arnold H. Rutkin; Available on Lexis+ (login required)
• Family Law in Perspective, 4th ed., by Walter Wadlington et al.; Available online in West Academic Study Aids (requires authentication using your UB network ID and password) and in print - Reading Room Reserves KF505.Z9 W33 2018
• Family Law Litigation Guide with Forms: Discovery, Evidence, Trial Practice, by Lawrence P. Hampton et al.; Available on Lexis+ (login required)
• Lindey and Parley on Separation Agreements and Antenuptial Contracts, 2nd ed., Alexander Lindey and Louis I. Parley; Available on Lexis+ (login required) 
• Understanding Family Law, 4th ed., by John DeWitt Gregory et al.; Available in print - Reading Room Reserves KF505.G74 2013

GLBT Law

• Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Family Law, by Courtney G. Joslin et al.; Available on Westlaw (login required)
• Sexual Orientation & the Law, by Karen Moulding; Available on Westlaw (login required) 

International Family Law

• International Family Law Practice, by Jeremy D. Morley; Available on Westlaw (login required)

 

---

Maryland

• Fader’s Maryland Family Law, 6th ed., by Cynthia Callahan and Thomas C. Ries; Available in print - Reading Room Reserves KFM1294 .F3 2016
• Family Law Manual, Maryland, by William D. Paton; Available in print - Stacks KFM12949 .P37 1984
• Hot Topics/Tips for the Family Law Practitioner, by MICPEL; Available in print - Stacks KFM1294 .F35 2009
• Maryland Family and Juvenile Law: Practice Manual and Forms by Natalie H. Rees; Available in print - Reading Room Reserves KFM1294 .R44
• Maryland  Family Law Forms (MSBA); Available in print -  Reading Room Reserves KFM1294.A65 M37 2011
• Maryland Law Encyclopedia: TOC; Available on Westlaw (login required) and complete set is available in print in Reading/Reserves Room 

 

 

• Collier Family Law and the Bankruptcy Code, edited by Hon. Margaret Dee McGarity, Alan N. Resnick and Henry J. Sommer; Available on Lexis+  (login required)

• Domestic Partner Benefits: An Employers' Guide, by Joseph S. Adams and Todd A. Solomon; Available on Westlaw (login required)

• Adoption Law and Practice, edited by Joan H. Hollinger; Available on Lexis+ (login required) (Updated regularly)
• Assisted Reproductive Technology: A Lawyer's Guide to Emerging Law and Science, 2nd ed., by Charles P. Kindregan, Jr. and Maureen McBrien; Available in print - 10th floor stacks KF3830.K56 2011
• Children and the Law: Rights and Obligations, by Thomas A. Jacobs and Natalie C. Jacobs; Available on Westlaw (login required) (Updated annually)
  • Also available in print - 10th floor stacks KF479.J33
• Disputed Paternity Proceedings, by George C. Maha et al.; Available on Lexis+ (login required) (Updated regularly)
• Handling Child Custody, Abuse and Adoption Cases, by Ann M. Haralambie; Available on Westlaw (login required) (Updated annually)
• Legal Rights of Children, 3d., by Thomas R. Young; Available on Westlaw (login required) (Updated annually)
  • Also available in print - 10th floor stacks KF479.L44
• Representing the Child Client, by Michael J. Dale et al.; Available on Lexis+ (login required) (Updated regularly)
• Rights of Juveniles: The Juvenile Justice System, by Samuel M. Davis; Available on Westlaw (login required) (Updated annually) 

ABA's Child Law Practice: Online

ABA's Family Advocate: Online

ABA's Family Law Quarterly: Online 

• Winter issue  

• Review of the Year in Family Law

  • Family Law in the Fifty States [for year]: Case Digests and Charts

  • Annual Survey of Periodical Literature

• Vol. 42, No. 3 (Fall 2008): Golden Anniversary Issue--articles providing 50-year overview on various topics

Cardozo Journal of Law & Gender: Online 

Periodically publishes bibliographies of recent works with summaries

• At least once a year; seems to be multiple times per year
• Currently entitled: ANNOTATED LEGAL BIBLIOGRAPHY ON GENDER 
• Formerly titled: WOMEN'S ANNOTATED LEGAL BIBLIOGRAPHY

Children's Legal Rights Journal: Online

Family Court Review: Online and 11th Floor Print Periodicals

Georgetown Journal of Gender and the Law: Online

• Annual Review of Gender and Sexuality Law

Journal of Law & Family Studies: Online 

Journal of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers: Online

• Occasional bibliographies on various family law topics (often by Nancy Levit)

Juvenile and Family Court Journal: Online and 11th Floor Print Periodicals

UC Davis Journal of Juvenile Law and Policy: Online

Whittier Journal of Child and Family Advocacy: Online

• To find articles across journals, search the library's discovery system, as well as the full-text journal databases on Lexis+ and Westlaw (logins required).
• To find articles that may be too recent to be in those indexes or databases, check:
  • Current Index to Legal Periodicals (on Westlaw (login required); indexed subjects include "Domestic Relations")
  • Law reviews' websites for latest content
• To find article drafts that may be posted in advance of publication, check:
  • bepress Legal Repository
  • SSRN
• To stay abreast of a law review's new issues, you can set up alerts various ways, including
  • Current Index to Legal Periodicals
  • Law review's website to see if it provides updates of new content by email or RSS
  • HeinOnline eTOC Alert...Browse to the desired title and select Create eTOC alert
• Regional journals may have issues devoted to survey of a particular jurisdiction, e.g., state or federal circuit.
• May also want to look for symposium and conference issues on a particular topic; add these terms to a keyword search.

Not Specific to Maryland

In addition to these resources listed below, the treatises on the left may also contain forms.

• ABA's Complete Guide to Divorce Practice: Forms and Procedures for the Lawyer ; Available in print - Stacks KF533. R52 2005
• Family Law Litigation Guide with Forms; Available on Lexis+ (login required)

Maryland

• Maryland Domestic Relation Forms with Practice Commentary; Available in print - Reading Room Reserves KFM1294.A65 T87

Titles available online in either West Academic Study Aids or Wolters Kluwer Study Aids Library require authentication using your UB network ID and password.  Previous print editions of these titles may be available in the stacks on the 10th floor at the same given call number and can be checked out for a semester.

• Children and the Law in a Nutshell, 6th ed., by Douglas E. Abrams et al.; Available online in West Academic Study Aids and in print - Reading Room Reserves KF 479.Z9 R36 2018
• Family Law: Examples and Explanations, 6th ed., by Robert E. Oliphant; Available online in Wolters Kluwer Study Aids Library and in print - Reading Room Reserves KF505.Z9 O43 2019 
• Family Law in a Nutshell, 7th ed., by John E. B. Myers; Available online in West Academic Study Aids and in print - Reading Room Reserves KF505.Z9 K7 2019
• Family Law in Perspective, 4th ed., by Walter Wadlington et al.; Available online in West Academic Study Aids and in print - Reading Room Reserves KF505.Z9 W33 2018
• Understanding Family Law, 4th ed., by John DeWitt Gregory et al.; Available in print - Reading Room Reserves KF505.G74 2013
• Understanding Juvenile Law, 3rd ed., by Martin R. Gardner; Available in print - Reading Room Reserves KF9780 .G37 2019