There are more than 250 neighborhoods in Baltimore City! LiveBaltimore provides a tool to explore Baltimore by neighborhood name or geography, letting you refine your search by vibe, nearby amenities, or average housing cost. Neighborhoods have unique profile pages telling you more about that neighborhood.
Be sure to check out the Resident Resources to learn more about Baltimore and how to access all the amenities the city has to offer!
Moving in during the summer? Get in to see these free sights before the homework starts!
Local Journalism
Often the best way to get to know a city is by reading the news from a variety of sources. Below you will find information about various current sources of journalism in Baltimore. Some sources are free and some require a paid subscription for a personal account.
Black-led, Black-controlled nonprofit newspaper and media outlet.
Originally founded in November 2017 after the closure of Baltimore City Paper (May 1977-Nov. 1, 2017) as a for-profit paper (print and online) that closed after four months (16 issues) due to lack of advertising. As of August 2022, was revived as an online alt-weekly newspaper with a bi-weekly print version was available across Baltimore for free. Relies on fiscal support from readers and donors.
Independent daily news website. A fixture in Baltimore since 2010, The Brew specializes in aggressive accountability reporting, looking at campaign cash, development deals, government spending, city services and more. Also covers justice, jobs, housing, economic development, the environment, education, youth, transportation, architecture, preservation, urban design, neighborhood conflicts over development and liquor issues, and commentary from people with special expertise and perspectives that deserve to be part of the civic conversation. Financial support comes from reader-members, foundations and advertiser-sponsors; all donors who donate more than $1,000 are disclosed.
Reports the "fun, factual and sometimes controversial scoop on local schools, real estate, money and power, culture, lifestyle, and community. Find daily posts Monday through Friday, longer original weekly stories, assorted columns and curated news from around the region, all accompanied by photos and video."
Largest daily newspaper in Maryland, founded in 1837; headquartered in Baltimore, Maryland, currently published by Tribune Publishing Company, LLC. Full text of articles are hosted on the ProQuest platform.
Coverage: Sep 16, 1990 - present, some exceptions. For material dating May 17, 1837 - Dec 31, 1996, see Baltimore Sun (Historical) (on Proquest).
A digital-first, daily newsroom with frequent updates on business and law; part of BridgeTower Media.
Digital Editions of both the Daily Record and the Maryland Family Law Update can be accessed by scrolling through the left-hand column on the website. Older editions of Daily Record can be accessed by selecting More on their navigation bar and then selecting Digital Edition; older editions of the Maryland Family Law Update, are also archived, available from February 2012.
A print edition is published weekdays in addition to more than 25 special products a year including Power Lists ranking the key people in Maryland in a variety of industries, Doing Business in Maryland, Way to Be and Expanding Opportunities. It also focuses on women business leaders with Women’s Perspectives, including a monthly podcast, webinar series, every-other-week email newsletter and a special quarterly print content package along with Maryland’s Top 100 Women, Leading Women and Women’s Leadership Summit events.
Nonprofit, nonpartisan newsroom with no paywall. Covers: education and transportation, poverty and health care, energy and the environment, the business community and organized labor, and politics. Part of the States Newsroom network.
Well known for in-depth news and analysis of American politics, along with insightful coverage of national and international trends and events. Read by more than a million people worldwide. Access provided through ProQuest. Complete text of recent articles is provided in ASCII format.
Coverage: Full text Dec 4, 1996 - present; Citation/Abstract Feb 01, 1988 (Vol. 111, no. 58) - present. See Washington Post (Historical) for full text material spanning Jan 1, 1987 - Dec 3, 1996.
While in database, users can also click Publications to access Washington Post Blogs, The Washington Post (Online), and Washington Post Video.
About The Washington Post. ProQuest Help is a good source for learning how to search the ProQuest databases.
Researchers can utilize the ProQuest | ExLibris Support Center to find popular training, troubleshooting, and how-to resources; this can also be accessed by clicking the left-hand side bar (three, horizontally stacked lines) and Selecting Support Center. About ProQuest.
