Tax databases are online platforms that provide access to a wide range of tax law resources. These resources can include primary sources of tax law, such as statutes, regulations, case law, and administrative materials, as well as secondary sources, such as treatises, journals, and news.
Remember, while the following databases provide a wealth of information, effective tax research requires more than just finding documents. It requires understanding the principles and details of tax law, analyzing the materials you find, and applying the law to the specific facts and issues you're dealing with. Always take the time to read and understand the materials you find, and don't hesitate to consult additional resources or seek expert advice if you're unsure about something.
Bloomberg Law is a comprehensive legal research platform that provides a wealth of resources for tax law research. Here's a closer look at what Bloomberg Law offers:
Primary Tax Law Sources: Bloomberg Law provides access to a wide range of primary tax law sources. These include the Internal Revenue Code, Treasury regulations, tax cases from federal and state courts, and IRS rulings and other administrative materials. These materials are updated regularly to reflect the most current law.
Secondary Tax Law Sources: Bloomberg Law includes a variety of secondary sources that can provide valuable insights and context for understanding and interpreting tax law. These include tax treatises, journals, and news. One unique feature of Bloomberg Law is its access to the Tax Management Portfolios, a series of in-depth analyses on specific tax topics written by leading tax experts.
Tax News and Commentary: Bloomberg Law provides up-to-date tax news and commentary, helping users stay informed about recent developments in tax law. This includes daily tax reports, newsletters, and podcasts.
Practical Guidance: Bloomberg Law offers practical guidance resources that provide step-by-step guidance on various tax procedures and transactions. These resources include practice tools, checklists, sample forms, and more.
Advanced Search and Analytical Tools: Bloomberg Law offers advanced search features that allow users to find relevant materials quickly and efficiently. It also includes analytical tools like their citator, BCite, which allows users to see how a particular case, statute, or regulation has been cited in other authorities, and Smart Code, which provides annotations for the Internal Revenue Code and Treasury regulations.
International Tax Resources: Bloomberg Law includes resources for international tax research, including tax treaties, international tax news, and analysis of international tax issues.
Bloomberg Law is a subscription-based service, but many law firms, law schools, and other institutions provide access to their members. As with any tax research platform, effective use of Bloomberg Law requires a solid understanding of tax law and careful analysis of the materials you find.
CheckPoint Edge is a comprehensive tax and accounting research platform developed by Thomson Reuters. It provides access to a wide range of tax law resources, making it a valuable tool for tax professionals, accountants, and attorneys.
Here's what you can find on CheckPoint Edge:
Primary Tax Law Sources: CheckPoint Edge provides access to federal, state, and international tax laws, including the Internal Revenue Code, Treasury regulations, and tax cases from various courts. It also includes IRS rulings and other administrative materials.
Secondary Tax Law Sources: CheckPoint Edge includes a variety of secondary sources, such as tax treatises, handbooks, and journals. These materials can provide valuable insights and context for understanding and interpreting tax law.
Tax News and Commentary: CheckPoint Edge provides up-to-date tax news and commentary, helping users stay informed about recent developments in tax law.
Practical Tools: CheckPoint Edge includes practical tools like calculators, charts, and checklists that can assist in applying tax law to specific situations. It also offers a variety of continuing education resources.
Advanced Search and Personalization Features: CheckPoint Edge offers advanced search features that allow users to find relevant materials quickly and efficiently. It also allows users to personalize their experience by setting up alerts, saving searches, and customizing their dashboard.
CheckPoint Edge is a subscription-based service, but many law firms, accounting firms, and educational institutions provide access to their members. As with any tax research platform, effective use of CheckPoint Edge requires a solid understanding of tax law and careful analysis of the materials you find.
Both Westlaw and Lexis are comprehensive legal research platforms that have a wide range of tax law resources. Including the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), Treasury regulations, tax cases from federal and state courts, IRS rulings and other administrative materials, tax treatises, journals, and news. Both also offer a variety of tools to locate, analyze, and organize information. Each provides their own citator as well; Westlaw has KeyCite, and Lexis offers Shepard's.
